Peugeot’s New Rally Car

by Stoev 198 views0

Peugeot confirmed that the new 208 model will replace the current 207 S2000 rally car in 2013.

208 for WRC, IRC and Regionals

According to official information from the French automaker, the new R4T, which is currently in development stage and is based on the mass production 208 model, will participate in the Super 2000 class of WRC (World Rally Championship) and some regional championships. The model is being developed in the racing sports division of the company and will be available to clients in 2013.

Peugeot also confirmed that the testing process of the R2 version has been under way since late 2011. It is again based on the 208 model and is only two wheel drive.

This modification is made specially for participation in the IRC (Intercontinental Rally Challenge). It will be available to clients very soon, the company claims.

The announcement about this new rally model comes about a month after Peugeot decided to pull out of all motorsport related activities. There will not be a factory team in either WRC, IRC or any other competition, but teams will be able to purchase the Peugeot 208 rally car and compete.

The 207 s2000 Model

Peugeot's New Rally CarThe new model has some big shoes to fill. The current Peugeot 207 S2000 rally car has been on the racing scene since 2007. It is used in the Super 2000 class of WRC as well as several other rally championships in Europe. The car won the European Rally Championship in 2008 driven by Luca Rossetti, and the International Rally Challenge in 2007, 2008 and 2009, driven by Jordi Barrabés, Nicolas Klinger and Paul Nagle respectively.

The engine in the Peugeot 207 S2000 is naturaly aspirated and displaces 1998 ccm. It delivers 280 BHp at 8250 rpm  and  250 Nm of torque at 6500 rpm. A 4×4 system with mechanical limited slip diffs deliver that power to the road. The weight is about 1200kg, depending on modifications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>